October 2016

Volume 13: Meanwhile...

Look & Listen Buy in Member Store

Visual Artist: Sean William Randall

Side A

A1: Ten Fé - ``Elodie``

A2: Great American Canyon Band - ``Come Home``

A3: Exes - ``twentythousand``

A4: tamper - ``Bought And Sold``

A5: Private Island - ``Drugs``

click on track to listen

Side B

B1: The Soft White Sixties - ``Tell Me It's Over``

B2: Matt Gresham - ``Small Voices``

B3: Coast Modern - ``Hollow Life``

B4: Elliot Harris - ``Ovr U``

B5: Worn Tin - ``Sensitivity``


Your experience may differ, but the first time I saw Sean William Randall’s fireball car paintings I laughed out loud. Something about the idea of a serene winter landscape being totally disrupted by a flaming car hurtling through the sky was (and still is!) delightfully absurd. It is both comedy and tragedy perfectly embodied in one still moment. Plus, it makes a great metaphor for how I feel when I hear an amazing piece of music. The still frozen air of my mind broken apart by a great song. It is an experience I felt listening to every one of the songs on Meanwhile… But like I said, your experience may differ. In fact, your experience will certainly differ since that is how the artwork for this record was designed. The record jacket contains 4 fold out scenes of serenity with not-a-car in the sky. Until you find the sticker sheet of cars and explosions, inviting you to place them how you see fit. Are these cars taking off? Coming down? Or just straight burning up? You decide!

– Brandon Bogajewicz