Volume 011

Night Eyes

July 2016
Look & Listen

Listen Now

Side A

A1: Violet Sands – “No Matter What”
A2: Green Gerry- “Mean Miracle”
A3: Gourmet – “Rewind”
A4: Kisses – “Sunset Ltd.”
A5: Luka Sol- “Unknown” (ft. Natalie M)

Side B

B1: Lovespeake – “Tightrope”
B2: Party Nails- “Break”
B3: BOOty – “Loosen Up”
B4: Touch Tone – “Perfect Lover” (ft. Van Bobbi)
B5: Little Wolves- “Alone”


Beware the things that go bump in the night. In Casey Grey’s world there are a lot of them. And you may want to bump along with them. Especially with the custom designed slip-mat included in Volume 11 spinning on your turntable. But fair warning, staring at it too long will affect your dance moves. (Although its unclear whether for better or worse) Volume 11 also sees the debut of the postcard booklet (replacing the postcard sheet) and is pressed on marbled yellow vinyl.

About the artist:

Casey Gray (b.1983 Palo Alto, CA) is an contemporary artist working primarily in painting and occasionally in printmaking, illustration and site-specific murals. His work explores our relationship to common objects, their ability to hold meaning and create identity in an era when it is no longer necessary to commit information to memory, and where notions of ownership are nebulous. Through a filter informed by past experience and a hopeful albeit dystopic future, Gray composes his findings into visually complex still life arrangements inspired by personal and universal narratives. His work is characterized by his commitment to aerosol paints and laborious hand cut masking techniques, resulting in a type of skewed hyper-realism.

Intro Letter:

I would tell you to dance like no one is watching but this month that just isn’t true. Please don’t let that get to you. Sure, the darkness always holds
a bit of spooky mystique and Night Eyes is no exception. But stare long enough at these spinning center labels and eventually the only thing to fear from the things that go bump in the night is a skipping needle.